Mstislav Rostropovich, the Bach Cello Suites DVD *****Discontinued

Mstislav Rostropovich, the Bach Cello Suites DVD *****Discontinued

Model: EMC99156DVD ***O/P
 Sold out 
  • Low prices
  • Worldwide shipping
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Satisfaction guarantee
  • Fully secure https


We're sorry, this item in no longer available

This is one of the most important recordings of the 20th century, both for its content (considered by many the greatest cello music of all time) and for the intense devotion, careful preparation, and towering technical skill that went into the project. It was a brilliant idea to make a video as well as an audio recording. Cellists will welcome the chance to study Rostropovich's bowing and fingering techniques, close up and at leisure. And music-lovers will welcome the visuals of the recording location, a French church whose architecture, statues, and flickering candles complement the music.4 hours

Mstislav Rostropovich knew, loved and practiced the Bach suites from his teen years, when the legendary Pablo Casals gave him a private performance of one of them. But he did not feel ready to record the complete set until he was 63 years old. Then he found an ideal location for the recording; he carefully chose his recording technicians, and he supervised the sessions besides playing the cello as only he can. Each note is carefully considered and given its unique shape. The music's structures are made clear, its emotional overtones powerfully conveyed. The conventional structure of a baroque suite--an elaborate overture followed by a series of dances--comes vigorously to life. And Rostropovich gives a spoken introduction to each suite (in Russian, with English subtitles) playing illustrative passages on the piano or organ.

The result may appeal mostly to specialized tastes (unaccompanied cello is not everyone's cup of tea), but this video is a landmark. --Joe McLellan


  • Model: EMC99156DVD ***O/P
  • Manufactured by: 0-Discontinue
  • Condition: New
  1. Home
  2. Discontinued skus & categories
  3. Sheet Music etc
  4. Mstislav Rostropovich, the Bach Cello Suites DVD *****Discontinued