Schneiderman plays Falckenhagen (lute) | Sonatas for Solo Lute CD

Schneiderman plays Falckenhagen (lute) | Sonatas for Solo Lute CD

Model: 7816 / JS-Ti-237 CD UPC: 045591023724
 Sold out 
  • Low prices
  • Worldwide shipping
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Satisfaction guarantee
  • Fully secure https


Adam Falckenhagen (1697 - 1791), Sonatas for Solo Lute, Op. 1 (1740)

John Schneiderman, lute

Critically acclaimed virtuoso of plucked instruments since age nine, John Schneiderman specializes in the performance practice and repertoire of eighteenth-century lutes and nineteenth-century guitars. Based in California, Schneiderman is in demand as a soloist and chamber musician collaborating on recordings and performances throughout North America.

Beginning his performance career as a banjo, guitar, bass and fiddle player, the young Schneiderman was a familiar face on the stages of bluegrass and folk festivals throughout California. He continues his interest in early American music performing traditional Appalachian fiddle tunes in a clawhammer style on the five-string banjo.

Mr. Schneiderman studied with British guitar pedagogue and author Frederick Noad, and continued his studies at the Schola Cantorum in Basel, Switzerland, with the great modern pioneer of the baroque lute, Eugen Dombois. Mr. Dombois' precise and detailed approach to the repertoire continues notably to influence Schneiderman's interpretations today.

He is a member of the chamber ensembles Galanterie, and The Czar's guitars, and has performed with the Los Angeles Opera, Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Los Angeles Baroque Orchestra, Musica Angelica, Seattle Baroque, Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra, Chanticleer, Musica Pacifica and the American Bach Soloists.

His extensive discography, much of it rarely or never before recorded lute and guitar music, includes cds on the Titanic, AudioQuest, Dorian, Centaur, VGo and Profil:Edition Gunter Hanssler labels.

Mr. Schneiderman is currently on the faculties of the University of California, Irvine, Irvine Valley College and Orange Coast College, and has been on the faculties of the California State University, Long Beach and the San Francisco Conservatory of Music.


Sonata I in C minor
Sonata II in E-flat Major
Sonata III in B-flat Major
Sonata IV in G minor
Sonata V in F Major
Sonata VI in D minor
Total Time: 74:28


  • Model: 7816 / JS-Ti-237 CD
  • Manufactured by: Schneiderman, John
  • Condition: New
  • UPC: 045591023724
  1. Home
  2. CDs
  3. Other Instruments CDs
  4. Schneiderman plays Falckenhagen (lute) | Sonatas for Solo Lute CD