Sheu | Waking or Sleeping CD

Sheu | Waking or Sleeping CD

Model: D- 11307 / 01128 waking UPC: 884501011280
 Sold out 
  • Low prices
  • Worldwide shipping
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Satisfaction guarantee
  • Fully secure https


"Her debut recording displays, without a doubt, her talents as a concert artist.”
-Classical Guitar Magazine, October 2009

Connie’s debut album, Waking or Sleeping is a collection of wide-ranging pieces for classical guitar. Her intent was to bring together a compilation of beautiful and accessible pieces that have affected her personally as a musician and interpreter. Recognizing that music has the power to change and affect us at all times of the day and at all points in life, the pieces on this album string together impressions and snapshots of life as we live it, as harmonious, sentimental, disjointed, and raw as it can be.

You’ll hear the jazz-influenced harmonies of Variations on a Theme of Django Reinhardt by Leo Brouwer; the atonal and restless Quatre Pieces Breves by Frank Martin; two liltingly nostalgic Valses by Frederic Chopin; the evocative Castillos de Espana by Federico Moreno Torroba; the mournful and poignant Elegy by Johann Kaspar Mertz; and one of Connie’s own arrangements of traditional hymns entitled Three Spiritual Songs. The title of the album comes from one of these hymns, "Be Thou My Vision" which has greatly influenced Connie’s journey as an artist.

Leo Brouwer (b. 1939)
1. Variations on a "Theme of Django Reinhardt" (10:27) (We also carry sheet music.)

Frederic Chopin (1810-1849) (We also carry sheet music.)
arr. Roland Dyens
2. Valse op. 69 no.1 (3:35)
3. Valse op. 69 no.2 (3:48)

Frank Martin (1890 - 1974)
Quatre Pieces Breves (Sheet music for solo guitar or for four guitar)
4. Prelude (2:43)
5. Air (1:55)
6. Plainte (2:40)
7. Gigue (2:43)

Johann Kaspar Mertz (1806-1856) (We also carry sheet music).
8. Elegy (7:38)

Federico Moreno Torroba (1891-1982)
Selections from Castillos de Espana
9. Turegano [Serranilla] (2:24) (We also carry sheet music.)
10. Montemayor [Romance de los Pinos] (1:29) (We also carry sheet music.)
11. Simancas [Juglaresca] (1:39) (We also carry sheet music.)
12. Torija [Elegia] (3:02) (We also carry sheet music.)
13. Alcazar de Segovia [Llamada] (2:50) (We also carry sheet music.)

Traditional, arr. Connie Sheu
Three Spiritual Songs
14. Were You There? / What a Friend We Have in Jesus / Be Thou My Vision (4:53)

Total Time: 51:47


  • Model: D- 11307 / 01128 waking
  • Manufactured by: Sheu, Connie
  • Condition: New
  • UPC: 884501011280

You May Also Like

  1. Home
  2. CDs
  3. Solo Classical CDs
  4. Solo Artists S - T
  5. Sheu | Waking or Sleeping CD
©2024 ZenCart SEO by Inveo