Petar Jankovic Ensemble | From Spain to Tango CD

Petar Jankovic Ensemble | From Spain to Tango CD

Model: 7837 / PJ - 66194 UPC: 884501661942
  • Low prices
  • Worldwide shipping
  • Knowledgeable staff
  • Satisfaction guarantee
  • Fully secure https


"one of the best, and most convincing, chamber ensembles that feature a guitar in recent years.... an incredible rhythmic precision, huge dynamic range, and intensity...highly expressive" .

Petar Jankovic Ensemble
Petar Jankovic, guitar
Sophie Bird, violin I
Grace Kim, violin II
Rose Wollman, viola
Maria Martinez, cello

This debut CD explores the music of three countries: Spain, Brazil and Argentina.

It starts with two dances from De Falla’s ballet El Amor Brujo and opera La Vida Breve, works well-known among both guitar and the violin playing communities as an attractive concert showpieces.

They are followed by beautiful lullaby-like Andante, originally composed as a second movement of Sonatina in A-major for guitar solo, and famous Asturias, originally written for piano solo.

Anacleto de Medeiros, a Brazilian schottische composed as part of Suite Retratos for two guitars, leads to Paulo Bellinati’s Jongo, a dance and musical genre of black communities from southeast Brazil.

The CD closes with three tangos by Astor Piazzolla, an Argentine tango composer and bandoneon player who has revolutionized the traditional tango into a new style named “nuevo tango” by incorporating elements from jazz, classical music and traditional tango music.

Petar Jankovic's website.


Manuel De Falla (1876-1946) from El Amor Brujo
1. Danza Ritual del Fuego from La Vida Breve
2. Danza Espanola

Federico Moreno Torroba (1891-1982) from Sonatina in A major
3. Andante

Isaac Albeniz (1860-1909)
4. Asturias

Radames Gnattali (1906-1988)
5. Anacleto de Medeiros

Paulo Bellinati (b. 1950)
6. Jongo

Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)
7. Primavera Portena
8. Oblivion
9. Tango No. 3

Total time 46:02

Sweet Owen Sound


  • Model: 7837 / PJ - 66194
  • Manufactured by: Jankovic, Petar
  • Condition: New
  • UPC: 884501661942
  1. Home
  2. CDs
  3. Guitar in Ensemble CDs
  4. Petar Jankovic Ensemble | From Spain to Tango CD
©2024 ZenCart SEO by Inveo